Change Two Football Rules

Marka Ragnos

You've been put in charge of football for the whole universe (or any other universes you wish to run), and you get to change two rules. (You can also change nothing.) What two adjustments would you make?

I'm no expert on the rules, but here's one handy reference if you need to look stuff up [note to mods-the text at that link isn't really excerptable].  

I think I just have one, for now, and that's to move the penalty mark back slightly -- maybe to 13 yards. I feel like it would make it just a bit harder to score but still make pens a worthy compensation for penalty. I need to consider my other rule change. It probably connects to VAR.

This is a surprisingly difficult subject and a very heady one. When you imagine a rule change, you also instantly see all kinds of potential problems and you realise the laws of the game are pretty clever and not easily improved. Can you rise to the challenge and propose something at once brilliant and plausible? It's not so easy, at least for my puny brain.

Edited by Marka Ragnos

Orange Card.  Ref watches the game back after and gives one to anyone diving or feigning injury like holding their face when contact was nowhere near.

Once issued next game if player does the same 2nd Orange Card equals 1 match ban.

That will stop the blatant cheating.

My other pet hate is the blatant obstruction of letting the ball go out for a goal kick anywhere else it's obstruction so why not by the byline.

• Thanks 1

1 hour ago, Zatman said:

automatic yellow card for talking back to the referee

VAR should punish diving instead of letting it go

two good rules there.