Skiing: Advise needed

GREAT_BEARD_OF_ZEUS

I'm off skiing at the beginning of March with a few mates - likely destination being Soll in Austria. Wondering whether anybody has been here and got any reccomendations on where to stay?

Also, i'm a bit of a novice (had a few lessons but thats it) and need to buy some ski clobber - anyone got a good website where i can get the best prices on jackets, goggles etc?

Cheers fellow VTers

Get yer gear from TKMaxx if you've never been before, you'll get a jacket and trousers for 50-60 quid.

I've got a mate in Quinton who's got some brand new unused goggles for sale at a reasonable price, I personally wouldn't try and ride in sunglasses, the wind in your eyes will hurt if it gets particularly cold!

I've just booked to go to Flaine on 5th March, can't **** wait to get out there now!

I dunno whether this is your thing, but I went to this in 2008 & 2009. It was f'cking awesome.

Good advice re: TKMaxx. It's all of last season's stuff, but unless you're a fashion queen, it's not going to matter. You'll pick up some gear on the cheap which is better than paying the extortionate prices at places like Snow and Rock etc.

If you're going to wear goggles then it might be worth splashing out a bit as cheap ones steam up way to quickly.

I don't tend to wear them because I'm too hard 8)

A pair of sunglasses will be fine if you are just starting out, you wont be going quick enough to worry about the wind in your eyes (intentionally anyway). You will probably find suglasses give you a better range of vision than with goggles, plus March will probably be quite warm a lot of the time and you will find them a lot more comfortable.

Goggles are best if there is a bad weather or you are venturing off piest.