Those free internet university degree courses?

villaguy

I studied economics at university a few years ago without showing much commitment and never completed my degree. It's something which I regret deeply, and finding well paid work seems to be quite a big challenge. Anyway these online university courses were on the news sites yesterday morning, not many courses are available at the minute and it's being run as a trial to start with. The US did this starting last year and they are continuing with it. That's all I know about the courses at the moment, has anyone looked into these and have much detailed information? I'd like to get a degree but costs are a big issue for me personally

Look like short taster courses only at the minute, a good few of them look worth doing. Hopefully next year they'll have full blown degrees where you only have to pay for the qualification if/when the course is passed

Its a good idea. 

the idea of going to a university for 3-4 years for certain subjects is probably going to be out-dated. 

Only the practical courses are going to need facetime.

welcome to the future.

Employers are growing more and more dissatisfied with graduates from what you read on the news, it would be far more practical for the employer and employee to mix and match modules for the specific career path or interests you have/need. This looks like the future for higher level education.

Im doing a couple of courses on edx.org. They are provided by universities like MIT, Harvard,etc and seem to be really good. They're not full degree courses tho.

Yeah, it's really in the experimental stage. Eventually that's the plan though I believe, I read a year or so ago that the person who freshens the higher education sector up to suit the workplace better will become minted, think it was on the Forbes site. This looks like the first stages of that plan

They are gonna kill the value of a degree aren't they?

Well they aren't worth much these days anyway.