Boateng's "hand ball"

Spoony

Handball?  

32 members have voted

1. 1. Handball?

• yes
    • no

There has been alot said about this and typically the ref is the one getting the flack for everything. I've seen it about 5 times now and every time my opinion doesn't change. It is a handball and it is a penalty. I am a referee and if the same thing happened in one of my games i would not hesitate. It was not "ball to hand" because he moved his hands upwards to intentionally handel the ball. It doesn't matter if he was protecting his face, you just can't do that. The referee simply applied the letter of the law and people may argue that he should have used his 'common sence' but he would get a bollocking himself for not giving that.

Thoughts? Boateng things decisions always go against him.....*cough* SOLANO *cough*

Handball. Southgate was very diplomatic about it and said that having seen it again he can see why it's been given. Unfortunately football doesn't afford its players the opportunity to protect their faces, it was unfortunate for Boateng but that's football.

I would like to see Ronaldo called up on his penalty taking technique though. The way he checks his run-up is at best unsportsmanlike.

I said no to this.. I know the ball hit his hand but i don't think it was a) deliberate B) denied a goalscoring op (as he it hadn't hit his hand - it would of hit his face) and c) I just thought it was an involentary action - but saying that, I can understand why the

ref. gave it.

Can't blame the ref at all - it was a similar one to Boros' goal against us earlier in season - you could see both sides to why it should/shouldn't have been allowed.

Anyway,