Car dealers

villarule123

So I'm going to see my local Hyundai dealer tomorrow, the car he quoted over the phone would be £187 a month over 4 years.

However, I've found the same car on drivethedeal.com for £164 a month over 4 years via a bank loan.

Am I likely to get this matched or will he be a stubborn bastard? I don't want the hassle or getting a bank loan and travelling to London to get the cheaper deal as things stand.

Total car noob here so be nice.

You might not get the price fully matched, but always worth a try. Just remember it's not personal it's just a game and at any point you can buy or walk away. You can be a full on nob, and at the end of it he'll still take your money off you so don't worry about upsetting him. At no point will he agree to a deal that puts him in trouble or loses him money.

Explain that your missus knows about the other offer - but you want to buy from your local dealer, so you need him to help by getting closer to that price or offering some other sort of compensation.

The first time he says he can't reduce his price, thank him for his time, agree it's a pain because you were hoping to buy today - and walk away. Make sure he has your mobile number. Hey, if you get a fiver off, that's a good few quid over four years (I am a maths and economics genius).

I saw a 58 plate BMW 730i fully loaded up for £9000 the other day

Thats a lot of car for 9k

It's a lot for spare parts as well, a 7-series is fooooking expensive to maintain, not to be forgotten when bargain-hunting.

Don't disagree, but it's a seriously well built machine and probably will be massively ok for 200,000 miles

Awesome car for that sort of lolly

& you can easily get 3 sets of clubs in the boot

I went in today and he offered it me for £7500, with a further £250 discounted if I put down a £250 deposit myself.