Lettings "Agency Finders Fees"

Demitri_C

Just wondering if there are any pros in the lettings field? I am a bit stuck as I am new to this whole thing.

Basically me and the missus are biting the bullet and finally getting a place to rent for a year just to see how we go. Found a nice little place.

It’s with the kings group they told me I need to put a deposit down and first months in advance which is fair enough.

The problem I have is the girl I am dealing with want a finders fee. She said to me that originally its £310 per person so £620 in total but she said she will do it for £450 for both! She said this covers referencing, and administration fees. Sounds a bit ridiculous to me. I asked a few people and they are telling me that the landlord should be paying them a finder’s fee and if I am to pay one it should be about £100-£200 max as it’s just for credit checks. Someone from the industry that I have spoken with told me I should report them as what they are doing is illegal. Anyone know anything about this?

Never, ever heard of a tenant paying a finder's fee. I mean, you found the property for ****'s sake. I'd tell them to stick it, or better yet ask for a detailed cost breakdown.

Just wondering if there are any pros in the lettings field? I am a bit stuck as I am new to this whole thing.

Basically me and the missus are biting the bullet and finally getting a place to rent for a year just to see how we go. Found a nice little place.

It’s with the kings group they told me I need to put a deposit down and first months in advance which is fair enough.