Travel tips...

hogso

Well actually I'm asking for advice specifically for the tubes, but yeh for general tips on getting down there under your own steam

I would be going by train, and I've done a journey planner thing. Train to Euston is fine, but I'm not very experienced with the tube, Not that I'm really intimidated by it or anything - although I was the first time I used it - I'm having a bit of trouble making out exactly what the planner is telling me.

Basically, you can get 2 or 3 tubes from Euston to Putney Bridge, the closest underground to Craven Cottage.

Euston Underground Station

Take the Victoria Line towards Brixton Underground Station

Green Park Underground Station

Take the Piccadilly Line towards Northfields

or Piccadilly Line towards Heathrow Terminal 4

or Piccadilly Line towards Heathrow Terminal 5

or Piccadilly Line towards Uxbridge

Earl's Court Underground Station

Take the District Line towards Wimbledon Underground Station

Putney Bridge Underground Station

-approx 31 mins

or

Euston Underground Station

Take the Victoria Line towards Brixton Underground Station

Victoria Underground Station

Take the District Line towards Wimbledon Underground Station

Putney Bridge Underground Station

-approx 33 mins

That's fine and all, but it throws up these warning messages;

NORTHERN LINE: Saturday 13 and Sunday 14 August, no service between Camden Town and Kennington via Bank. Click here to see more details about the Northern line upgrade plan. Reported: 05/06/11 13:35 Last Updated: 05/06/11

DISTRICT LINE: Saturday 13 and Sunday 14 August, no service between Earl's Court and Edgware Road. See our upgrade plan for the District line. Reported: 29/04/11 15:33 Last Updated: 31/05/11 09:35

EARL'S COURT: No step-free access to the Piccadilly line until March 2012 due to planned maintenance work. Use the District line to/from Hammersmith for alternative routes. Reported: 05/04/11 08:28 Last Updated: 09/05/11 01:11