Building a PC?

PongRiddims

Hello friends,

I've mentioned in other threads that I have a bundle of old laptops and base units going to waste that I'm need to shift. I've decided I'm going to salvage what I can from them, it anything, and build a new tower.

The main use for the tower will be to play football manager and to record my vinyls, although may also be used for Kodi/streaming.

I've never done this before so will please allow for noob questions.

Firstly, how do I identify what motherboard or CPU I need for my requirements?

My guess would be that you need to look up what the minimum specs are for the things you expect to run and choose your kit accordingly.

By guess would be that the games you want to play would be the most demanding and the graphics the most important in that respect.

I don't think either the streaming or the recording would be too demanding and on-board sound should be fine.

But in my experience when you build a computer for a limited purpose you soon get frustrated when it won't something a little more demanding.

There will be VTers with more expert knowledge than my own so wait to see if my lousy answer provokes a better one.:)

My guess would be that you need to look up what the minimum specs are for the things you expect to run and choose your kit accordingly.

By guess would be that the games you want to play would be the most demanding and the graphics the most important in that respect.

I don't think either the streaming or the recording would be too demanding and on-board sound should be fine.

But in my experience when you build a computer for a limited purpose you soon get frustrated when it won't something a little more demanding.

There will be VTers with more expert knowledge than my own so wait to see if my lousy answer provokes a better one.[emoji4]

It's a good answer thanks mate. I did consider on board sound but I'd like a phono input if possible, don't suppose many on boards have that? I genuinely have no idea