Teaching English abroad

donnie

Anyone done this?? What were your experiences and did it harm your employment opportunities in the uk after??

Something ive always fancied doing but never have for some reason. Wouldn't mind doing it for a year or two. I have a degree too although my gf doesnt.

I did 19 months in Korea and absolutely loved it.  Would recommend to anyone although shop around for a good school because there are some horror stories.

In Korea a degree is required for visa purposes but no TEFL is needed.  Not sure what the job market is like out there now as it did hit a bit of a slump recently.

I did 19 months in Korea and absolutely loved it. Would recommend to anyone although shop around for a good school because there are some horror stories.

In Korea a degree is required for visa purposes but no TEFL is needed. Not sure what the job market is like out there now as it did hit a bit of a slump recently.

Yeah I know a few people teaching in Korea who love it. Decent wage as well considering they only work 20 hour weeks. I know one guy who has been there 3 years and managed to save 10k a year from his wages.

Did it harm your job prospects when you got back as hear employers get put off by it (in terms of seeing it as a doss abroad for a year or two) ??

Wouldn't teaching abroad imply, you know, dealing with foreigners?

You seem like a strange fella

From your previous posts on this site, one could certainly draw the conclusion that you're xenophobic, which makes your desire to teach foreigners rather strange.

Edited by leviramsey
  • Like 2

Well Korea is one of the best places to go to become a victim of xenophobia.

I don't think it's hindered me on my CV, in some fields it could certainly be an asset.  Generally though I think it is ignored rather than seen as a negative.