Orlando/ Universal and getting around.

jackbauer24

Have been looking at relatively late deals to Orlando for the end of this month/ early August but, never having been to the US before, I'm getting a little confused by what you really need/ scale of area.

In summary we want to go for 14 days, we want to go to Universal mostly but have a maybe a day at one Disney Park (so expensive) and see if we can get a day or two at a beach area like Daytona perhaps?

We've got a budget of approximately £3k for two of us but flights and hotel look like taking up two thirds of that. I can't go any other time of the year as I'm a teacher!! Do we need a car as well?

Having looked around and all the different permutations, taxes, costs of food etc are we not going to have enough money?

Flights/ Hotel (RO) - £2k (Thomson)

Theme Parks - £400

Transport? Food? General spending money? I'm well short aren't I?!

Any advice? Or should I just give up and go to Spain...

Can you get cheaper flights to say New York and then take an internal flight down... I dropped Orlando from my trip but in the end but I was seeing £70 for Washington to Orlando flights when I looked... New York is a cheap hub so should be able to get something

Not sure why you want to focus so much on theme parks ... Go to crystal river and you can jump in the water and swim with Manatees and also go out on an air boat across the Everglades... And without queuing for 3 hours either

I'll look at the New York thing, be nice if I could break up the holiday a little as 14 days at a Theme park seems a little much!! We had thought about visiting Daytona Beach and Kennedy Space Centre if possible too but know nothing of US at all.