Do We Need Them?

villafan306

5 days left in the transfer window and we have signed not one player. But do we need any?

Let's look at the facts. 41 points from 24 games, 5th place in the league and in with our best chance of qualifying for the Champions League since.....well ever. So you wouldn't think that we are desperate to sign anyone.

But truth be told, we are. Our squad is wafer thin and one or two injuries could halt our European charge for this season. But we haven't signed anyone so far this January and with 5 days left (and bear in mind nothing ever really happens on a Sunday) rumours are thin on the ground. So what I intend to do here is look at our squad. what I think we need and who I think is available (bear in mind I have no inside knowledge whatsoever).

Goalkeepers: With Carson being valued at £10million and Martin O'Neill wanting value for money, chances are this won't become a permanent deal right now. But with Carson here until June there is plenty of time to ponder this one. Taylor has been as good as Carson when called upon and in my view is unlucky not to be starting more often. Sorensen is looking to move in the next few days but I don't expect us to sign a replacement.