Greetings VT

Hi, I'm Tom and i'm an Aston Villa fan. How I became a Villa fan is a vaguely boring story.

My dad dislikes football, he asks about it occasionally as a token gesture to get a conversation going but he really has no interest. In a way I understand it, what I don't understand is why I am so obsessed with a football team.

My mum likes football and loves watching England play. Maybe love is too strong a word but she always watches if she can, especially during the World Cup or Euros.

When I was 5 or 6 years old, my mum bought me a replica 'sew the badge on yourself' Liverpool Away kit as a birthday present. I knew nothing about Liverpool but liked the White and green colours. I wouldn't say I supported Liverpool, I didn't really know what they were. When visiting my Grandma and finding football on the tele, I asked my mum who she supported and she said she didn't support anybody but liked Manchester Utd when she was a child.

When I started playing football for a local under 10s team, Manchester Utd were regularly on Terrestrial TV, usually in the evenings after training. I remember they lost 4-0 to Barcelona wearing their black away kit. I remember Mark Hughes. I actually have a much earlier memory of Man Utd playing in their Yellow and Green away kit; I remember a close up of Paul Ince's face. I couldn't get away from them, they were everywhere I looked. so I developed a bit of an affinity to them.

My clearest and earliest memories of Premier League football were not of watching the Television, it was of listening. I used to go to bed with a radio under my pillow and fall asleep to the sound of 5 live. I now have great affection and nostalgia for the sound of Alan Green's voice. I have no idea what he looks like; I don't want to know. My clearest memory of 'football under the pillow' is when Cantona lashed out and kicked a Crystal Palace fan. I had no idea of the seriousness of the situation at the time but it woke me up.