Share dealing - merged

lapal_fan

Bonjour,

I've been interested for a few months in the stock market.

I have no experience, but over the last 6 months I have been keeping my eye on a few extremely cheap stocks which have all risen over time.

I have read quite a bit about the risks of trading and I think some people out there make it seem more risky than what it is.

I mean, its obvious that you do not risk what you cannot afford isn't it?

Anywho, my question is, has anyone had a dabble in penny stock or just regular stock?

It may be that your company does a stock based perk and you've made a few quid out of it.

I think I'd like to throw £200 at something and just see how it goes.

A lot of people, about 5 or 10 years ago went for the 'safe' option and bought some shares in banks.

However, nowadays only the top top banks are worth getting shares in.

Buy some shares in Villa :)

I haven't personally bought any shares, however back in the day I did work experience at a FTSE100 company called 3i, thats based by the NEC off the Cov Road. Not sure how they are doing nowadays though.

I'd buy shares in Apple. The iPhone 5 is due out soon and they they will probably sell a metric **** ton of iPads for Xmas. The share price will rise on the back of that, surely?

(edit:)

Apple share price on July 14th was 357.77

I'd buy shares in Apple. The iPhone 5 is due out soon and they they will probably sell a metric **** ton of iPads for Xmas. The share price will rise on the back of that, surely?

Unless it has already risen in expectation of the sales. If sales are high but don't quite make the metric **** ton then the share price will drop.

It depends on how much longer Steve Jobs lasts though.

He's surely not got that much longer, and his death could cause a major hit to their share price.