Biggest Gig Regret

JoshVilla

I was wondering whether this should go in the Gig thread, but thought it'd be good to separate this purely to talk about what your biggest regret was in terms of bands you never got to see, passed up the opportunity, saw them too late etc etc.

Obvious one for me was Prince. I had the chance to see him while I was Uni. However, being a poor student, I couldn't spare the money to go so had to pass. A few years later, once I was out of Uni and back working, he announced his piano tour. Went online as soon as the tickets were due to go on sale, only to find that he'd cancelled the tour as he was unhappy with how much the promotional companies were charging the fans for tickets (very admirable, of course). He'd said that he would rearrange the tour at a later date, and then unfortunately he passed away not long after that. My absolute hero and I never got to see him live.

Had a couple of chances to see Rush when I was younger too that I passed up. Shame.

• Like 1

Mates at 6th form went to see Kings of Leon in Brum Academy 3 back in about 01 or 02, it was before the first album, maybe 250 people they reckon, there's a live recording from there that was a b side on an early single 

That's the kind of regrets I had, soon to be big bands in tiny venues, not too fussed about big bands in big places, I still haven't seen KoL, the 30k people arena £60 a ticket stuff isn't as interesting 

Had tickets for Noel Gallagher teenager cancer Trust acoustic show which is on Spotify but it was from a ropey site who didn't send the tickets and I had to claim the money back from my credit card company 

Edited by villa4europe

Lonnie Donegan. He was playing locally just before his death and I really wanted to see him, kept putting it off as there would always be next time. I put it off again and sadly he died less than a week later.