Informal investigation at work

StewieGriffin

Ok, so, to get straight to the point - I had a letter arrive from work today asking me to attend an informal investigation meeting at work next Tuesday because of "comments i recently posted on social media"

What does that entail? Basically, am I going to get the sack for being a dick and posting a silly message on Facebook about how wound up I was by someone's incompetence? (I didnt name the person)

Had a quick google earlier, but everythig seemed to be from the employers POV

Thanking you

Take representation. Even if it is 'informal', I've fallen for that before and it got bad quick.

Check any work policies you've signed. Have you infringed any of them? I don't know what your line of work is, and I'm no expert, but get your ducks in order quickly and go as prepared as you can even if it is 'informal'.

Social media is always a problem waiting to happen if you ask me, Jack Bauer is right though (you don't get to work for the CTU if your an idiot after all) take someone in who knows their shit.

I wouldn't worry too much about it though I doubt they'll sack you unless you have said something really bad

Most likely you'll be getting a nice raise for identifying a weak link within the company. I would start looking at Aston Martin brochures if I were you.

Edited by Brumerican
  • Like 2

They should still let you take a colleague in. You need to ensure you are given a chance to explain and you also need to know you'll get a fair hearing and that's impossible without someone confirming it's all above board. All they need to do is sit in a corner and listen so if it goes any further they can confirm what was said.