The History Thread

maqroll

Great idea. I majored in history at university and love to discuss it with other sorts of people who aren't totally bored to death by it. I studied primarily antiquity and the early medieval in Europe and the Near East, but I love WWII (especially the Eastern Front) and plenty of other topics in modern and early-modern history.

WW2 is fascinating.   I'd love to be a bit more up to speed about the North and East African campaigns (which I believe were mostly just us stomping on Italy) though.  Anybody got any good links or videos?

• Like 1

I did history at university and mainly focused on modern history 1840 onwards. However, I lap everything up that's to do with WWII and the Cold War.

When I lived in Berlin I used to give walking tours for a company but I couldn't do the delivery very well so I took drunk on bar crawls.

I'm fascinated by WWI, especially the effect it had on our take on war, the art/writing that came out of it, and the utter inhumanity of trench warfare. The aftermath is just as fascinating - it was (coupled with Darwin) a major component in the West's abandoning of religion and of course it resulted in Paris in the 20s.

I also like ancient history (Greece, Rome)..

The 60s are great too, what with Vietnam, the Cold War, JFK, and all the social change.

Need to read more on all of the above.

I grew up in a house obsessed with WWII. There were airfix tanks and stacks of videotapes on the subject everywhere. It never really rubbed off on me. It always struck me as a war that was too big to really grasp.

I find the history of the Empire quite interesting. I watched a documentary on youtube a while ago about the end of the empire and giving independence back to countries. It's still amazing to imagine how much power Britain used to have.