Saving Money - advice needed

Stevo985

Morning VT.

As per usual my first point of call when faced with a big decision is Off Topic.

So, after buying my first house 18 months ago I've managed to spend basically all my money, and run up a few debts along the way (overdraft, owe my parent s a bit of cash that they lent me for a deposit and a credit card bill)

Now, however, I've taken on a lodger so I'll have a steady flow of cash coming in above and beyond my normal income, which I intend to save so as to pay off some or all of my debts.

Now even though I work in finance, I have an embarassingly low knowledge of banking. I have my normal bank account and that's it, I don't really know what everythig else is/does.

So my question is, what is the best type of account to get the rent I'll be receiving paid into? I've been looking at ISAs, but not sure if I should be going for normal savings accounts or other options I'm unaware of.

For reference, the amount I'll be paying in will be £400 per month (so £400 will be the initial deposit), and I'll need constant access to it for paying off debts as and when I can and for emergencies.

(and before anyone suggests it, I am doing my own research into the matter, but thought I'd ask here as I know there's a few people on here who have knowledge in this area)

Now even though I work in finance, I have an embarassingly low knowledge of banking.

So it's your fault the economy is in the toilet!

Please tell me you've taken my advice and go through www.Quidco.com at every opportunity when purchasing anything online?

I think if you'll be spending it / paying off debts frequently you're not going to earn much in the way of interest... that's before you get to the current interest rate we have.

Please tell me you've taken my advice and go through www.Quidco.com at every opportunity when purchasing anything online?